Presidents Address 2017-18


I am indeed extremely honoured to be elected President of the Association of Referees Leinster Branch for the 2017/18 season an Association that has been an integral part of my life over many years.  Ours is an Association that is held in high esteem both far and wide and one which has and continues to make an extraordinary contribution to the very fabric of our sport.

We are an Association that sets high standards for ourselves and expect our membership to act as ambassadors of our Association with behaviour that is consistent with the rugby core values of integrity, passion, solidarity, discipline and respect. These are values that I know all of us hold dear to our heart and ones which I will strive to both maintain and nurture during my tenure. One could only be but extremely proud to be President of such an Association.

As with my predecessor David MacDonald I too have inherited an extremely vibrant, motivated and forward-thinking Association and one which is averse to sitting on its laurels. Our Five Year Strategic Plan [2016-2020], the implementation of which through the stewardship of both Wayne Sheridan and David MacDonald is well underway, is an example of same.

I with the invaluable assistance and stewardship of our very strong Executive Committee and the exemplary work of our Standing Committees who cover Management, Rugby, Finance and Administration as well as the tremendous contributions from all our Area Representatives would aim to build upon progress made to date.

Further to this and in line with our Strategic Plan we will strive towards both resourcing and delivering upon an even more stream-lined and effective management of our invaluable referee resource throughout the grades and a continued and enhanced focus upon recruitment and retention and the critical ‘Cradle to Grave’ principle and the continued development of our club identity.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish all our members the very best for the 2017-18 season, wherever you officiate and in whatever capacity, and hope that you will continue to enjoy your participation, as well as being true ambassadors for the ARLB.

Conor Byrne
Wayne Sheridan
Pat Carolan
Peter Donnelly
Jim Breen
David MacDonald