Leinster Match Program – Article 13

April 21, 2017 in Match Program


Firstly good luck to our extensive team of 6 at the SCT Challenge Cup Final. Referee: Paul Haycock, Sub Referee: Barry O’Keeffe, Touch Judge: David Williams, No.4 : Barry Armstrong, No.5: Jonathon Geoghegan and TMO: John Carvill – at time of writing the game has yet to be played, but I am sure an great day will be had by all.

Annual Dinner

We regard our Annual Dinner as one of the main highlights of our year.  It is a celebration of  the 2016/17 season that, so far at least, has been highly successful for the ARLB.  That success is entirely due to our referees efforts, both on and off the pitch.  The Dinner is also where we get to meet up with the other members of OUR club and renew friendships that  are otherwise not easy to maintain.  We will also honour 3 deserving members of our Association with Awards.

This year, the Dinner  is taking place on Saturday April 1st, in Lansdowne FC, just a few hours after we watch Leinster play Wasps in the Quarter Final of the ERCC.  Amongst others, we will be joined by the President of the IRFU, former International Referee Stephen Hilditch, who is also an excellent speaker.  “Legendary” rugby player Ross O’Carroll Kelly will reply to the toast on behalf of the guests, which should be interesting!

On the night our annual awards are handed out. There are four main awards, one for lifetime achievement – the Ham Lambert Award (2015/16 Brendan Jenkinson  2014/15 Tony De Lacy, 2013/14 Brendan Lynch, 2012/13 Tom Aplin, 2011/12 Des McCabe, 2010/11 Des Flanagan, 2009/10 Declan McIlraith, 2008/09 Ned Cummins, 2007/08 David Bell, 2006/07 Joe O’Connor), one for referee of the year – the Harold Ardill Award (2015/16 Brendan Conroy 2014/15 Paddy Curran, 2013/14 Gary Conway, 2012/13 Barry Armstrong, 2011/12 Dan Wallace, 2010/11 David Bolger, 2009/10 Brendan McGovern, 2008/09 Tony Duncan, 2007/08 Kevin Laide, 2006/07 Stephen Kennedy, 2005/06 Norman Carter), one for Referee Performance of the Year – the Alain Rolland Award which was introduced last year (2015/16 Dermot Blake 2014/15 Helen O’Reilly ) and one for club of the year – the Terry Doyle Memorial Award (2015/16 Terenure College2014/15 St Mary’s College RFC, 2013/14 Lansdowne FC, 2012/13 Ashbourne RFC, 2011/12 Skerries RFC, 2010/11 Edenderry RFC, 2009/10 Malahide RFC, 2008/09 Ashbourne RFC, 2007/08 UCD RFC, 2006/07 Greystones RFC, 2005/06 Boyne RFC).

Scrum Down

From the beginning of this season an amendment to Law 8.3 has been in place which allows referees to play advantage at collapsed scrums, or when players have been forced upwards out of the scrum.  This law amendment is for the professional game only and does not apply in the domestic game. Referees in these matches, at all levels up to and including Ulster Bank League, should be applying Laws 20.3 (h) & (i), and should blow immediately if a scrum collapses or a player lifted upwards is forced upwards out of the scrum.

Tag Rugby

Well the 2017 Tag season is on the horizon and despite us still being in the throes of the Six Nations, the tag referee workshops have started with the first one being held in Belfast. Below is a list of the venue dates. The first venue open is Swords on 5th April and then Lansdowne on 12th April for their Spring league


Kevin Beggs would like to invite anyone interested in refereeing tag to get in contact with him at Kevin.Beggs@irfu.ie

There are a few law alterations this season which everyone needs to know about. There are also some tournaments coming up in the weeks ahead and it is important that all referees are fully conversant with the changes so that everyone is on the same page when making decisions.

Do you think you have you got what it takes to be a referee? The Leinster Referees always need more referees and opting to become one may be the best decision you’ve made for a long time. Feel free to make contact with the Leinster Rugby Referees at denis.collins@leinsterrugby.ie or contact by phone Denis Collins at 01-2235107 or David O’Brien at david.obrien@irfu.ie

If you are interested in becoming a referee get in contact with us through our facebook page, our website www.arlb.ie or through twitter @leinsterreferee.