2019 / 20 Season Award Winners

November 29, 2021 in News

Every year during our annual dinner we hand out our annual awards. Sadly this event has not taken place in recent times.

There are five main awards, one for lifetime achievement – the Ham Lambert Award (2018/19 Pierce Fitzpatrick), one for referee of the year – the Harold Ardill Award (2018/19 Robbie O’Flynn), one for Referee Performance of the Year – the Alain Rolland Award which was introduced in 2015 year (2018/19 Colm Roche ) – one for club of the year – the Terry Doyle Memorial Award (2018/19 Old Wesley RFC) and the Denis Collins Perpetual Award for Progressive Referee which has been recently added. The club of the year award is voted by the active referees of the association. Due to Covid restrictions a small ceremony took place before the Leinster v Ulster game and we are delighted to announce and congratulate this years winners:

Terry Doyle Memorial Award for Club of the Year: Greystones RFC. A super club and a clear winner in the voting process from the active referees.

Ham Lambert LifeTime Achievement Award: Bryan O Neill (Lansdowne FC) Bryan is a long time member of the Leinster Rugby Referees and former president who has given great service to the association.

Harry Ardil Referee of the Year: Simon ‘Nigel’ Owens (Old Wesley RFC) Simon has held multiple roles in the association and has given a huge amount of free time to refereeing at all levels. 

Alain Rolland Award for Refereeing Performance of the Year: Andrew Cole (Old Wesley RFC) Andrew is one of Ireland up and coming referees. He had a superb season in 2019/20 and continues to improve.

Denis Collins Perpetual Award for Progressive Referee: Katie Byrne (Tullamore RFC) Katie has shown huge potential since becoming a referee and continues to shine and rise through the ranks.


Well done to all the deserving winners.